Acknowledging limitations

[avatar]
@cblack

So, I haven't participated in 50/90 very much so far. It's my first time with my home studio, and I expected I'd be hyper-focused on making music... But instead I've not done much.

And I think I know why. Limitations.

I have some e-drums, but aren't good enough on them to write proper drum parts. The drum music I want to make, I'm not skilled enough for.

I also don't have a bass, so I'd need to use my keyboard for those. But I'm worse on keys than I am on drums...

This leaves guitar and vocals. I'm good enough on both to make songs. But I don't have an acoustic guitar, so can't do the guitar+vocals thing. Electric guitar and vocals, sure, but that's not as robust as I'd like.

So basically, I'm writing this to acknowledge my limitations. Rather than an excuse to do less, I'm looking for advice on how to do more.

How do you all overcome limitations? Are you still trying to figure it out?

Thanks.

[avatar]

i think i would trade the e-drums for a more useful acoustic guitar, and use midi drums for bigger productions. I splashed out on Addictive Drums 2, which is pricy but has affordable options. Sometimes i feel a bit like that's cheating but I am not a drummer so it helps loads to realise songs. (the midi beats are played by professional drummers and i mix n match to tailor to my song - very flexible). But main thing that seems to be a limitation is not having an acoustic guitar - you could pick up a cheap guitar and be away! good luck

[avatar]
@cblack

Oh, I'm not selling my e-drums. I may not be a great drummer, but it's ridiculously fun!

I have an electric guitar I'm trying to sell. If that goes, I can afford the acoustic I have my eyes on.

[avatar]